Login |  Register |  help

Devils crush BWAC rivals

Posted Sunday, February 07, 2010 by The Times Herald
CROSWELL -- The Blue Water Area Conference
wrestling meet was no different than the regular
season for the Richmond squad.

The Blue Devils put on another dominating

Richmond, which is coached by George Hamblin
and Brandon Day, finished with 278 points and 10
division champions Saturday at Croswell-Lexington.

"We're very pleased and happy for the boys,"
Hamblin said. "We had a real good day as a team.
The team did a great job."

The Blue Devils, who are No. 2 in the Division 3
state poll, were 7-0 in dual matches. They secured
the title Wednesday night with a victory against
previously unbeaten Capac.

Capac was a distant second at the league
tournament with 212.5 points.

Imlay City finished third, followed by Almont,
Algonac, Yale, Cros-Lex and Armada.

Turning in one of the most impressive performances
for the Blue Devils was second-seeded Preston
Treend at 135 pounds.

Treend earned a 5-4 decision against top seed Sam
Lyscas of Imlay City, who came into the match with a
49-0 record.

"Preston had never wrestled Sam before," Hamblin
said. "They were seeing each other for the first time.

"It was a great match and a real big win for Preston."

Hamblin said no scores were kept for the B teams in
the event, but the Blue Devils would have earned
plenty of points.

In three weight classes, two Blue Devils were
squaring off for the title.

Stephen Ireland of Richmond defeated teammate
Austin Cattera 9-4 in the 103-pound finals, while
Dominic Cattera picked up a 5-2 decision against
Dustin Pitcel, also a Blue Devil.

At 130, Richmond's Justin Russo and Pat Baruth got
involved in a scoring outburst. Russo prevailed 26-

Richmond's other champions were Garett Edwards
(119), Josh Rivard (125), Brian Henke (145), Adrian
Morang (152), Roger Crump (160) and Dakota
Boldrey (171).

Crump and Boldrey registered pins in 3:32 and 1:
06, respectively.

Yale's Mike Tyranski (189) and Steve Lams (285)
continued to enjoy outstanding seasons with
tournament titles.

Tyranski defeated Thomas Bolday of Capac 6-3 and
Lams pinned
Pat White of Capac in 56 seconds.

The only other champions were Capac's Joshua
Kaiser (140) and Algonac's Eric Heim (215).

This page was created in 0.0938 seconds on server 132